I have never been a morning person, so therefore, getting up for me is always like being shot out of a cannon.  I have to rush.

It’s not a nice way to live, I must say.  I know this because when I am in California, I fake being a morning person.  I find it easy to get up at 5:30AM (naturally, since to my body its really 8:30AM!).  Out here, I get a chance to ease into the day.  And even so, my mind raises upon getting out of bed.  It’s really rather disturbing to go from a state of rest to a mental state of frenetic thoughts.  So I have a new thing I am starting (or at least that I did today – I need it to become a new thing!).  I meditate in the morning. 

This morning, I got up and stretched, and then I sat on the floor for 10 minutes, eyes closed, and tried to focus on nothing but breathing.  It was damn hard.  Try it – it’s incredibly illuminating.  The mind goes wild.  Within seconds of focusing on breathing, I am thinking about work, and driving, and a person I need to call.

And then I go back to focusing on breathing.

And again seconds later I am thinking I need to eat something, and that my dog died, and that my cats will die someday, and that I have a call to make.

And then I go back to focusing on breathing. 

And this frustrating pattern goes on for 10 minutes.  The bell goes off, I open my eyes and I feel a little tingly, and a little refreshed.

As frustrating as it was, it was very cool and is something I would like to do regularly.  Over the years, I have meditated sporadically but I have always been fascinated by it.  The benefits of meditation are well documented.

I should have made it part of my 2007 resolutions, along with another which is Do Less To Do More.  I touched on this in my list,  but I think I should have said it differently.  It’s clear to me that even upon waking up, my mind races in ways that are not really healthy.  I need to use thought to my benefit, not have them run rampant through my mind at their whim and whimsy only to stress me out and inhibit my ability to focus.  Practicing focusing on one thing – one natural thing like breathing – is sure to help me Do More as I learn to Do Less.

