I am proud to say, I am a total sucker for boxing movies.  Rocky movies in particular…and I am proud to say, this includes the latest one, the one that came out in 2006, what was it, Rocky 12?  No, that’s not right…I believe it’s called Rocky Balboa.  And it’s cheesy, laughable, and ridiculous as Rocky waxes philosophic throughout…and I loved EVERY second of it.  And I would watch it again.  It was a little embarrassing to let out an audible cheer on the airplane as I watched the end (so no, I did not pay to see it…but I WOULD).

·        Maybe it’s because the movie reminds me of being a kid and watching Rocky, Rocky 2, Rocky 3, etc.  Every time I see one, it takes me right back to our couch in the TV room in the house where I grew up.  My sister and I would sit there, eat buttered matzo (for another post), stay up too late and watch the movies over and over.

·        Maybe it’s the music – it’s damn near impossible to listen to that music and not feel like working out like a champion.

·        Maybe it’s the cheesy heart and soul of a champion they try to convey, and there has always been a part of me that believes I am destined to be great somehow (This, my friends, is true.  I have no idea what “great” actually means in my case, but I know I have seeds of greatness in me somewhere DYING to come out.).

·        Maybe it’s because “boxer” is on my Things I Would Do If I Were Not A Venture Capitalist list.  I always thought it would be cool to be a physical bad ass for a living.  Not so sure I would like taking beatings every day, but IMAGINE the biceps.

I really don’t know what it is, but I am a sucker for Rocky movies and am now a card carrying Sylvester Stallone fan.  He is on my list of who I would invite to a dinner party (along with Cleopatra, Nina Simone, Queen Victoria, Benjamin Franklin and the Notorious B.I.G.  All dead people, except me and Sly.  What the hell would I serve?)  Who would you invite?

A couple of quotes from Rocky Balboa:

“The older I get, the more things I leave behind.”

“It’s not how hard you hit, it’s how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward.”

I mean this is powerful stuff, people!

Not sure my sister and I have ever decided which of the Rocky movies is our favorite.  Time to bust them out again and have a Rocky Marathon.  I may even subject the Big H to the marathon.

Side note: that last idea – subjecting my husband to a day of Rocky movies – makes me a great chick!  There it is, the greatness I was alluding to.  Not a Chick Flicks marathon (we are not talking Four Weddings and a Funeral here with a Knotting Hill chaser).  No no…Rocky movies.  I am so doing that.

