I have been accused of being a tad Pollyanna at times.  At our work holiday dinner last December we were each matched with a theme song…they gave me "You Are My Sunshine, My Only Sunshine…" and all sang it to me.  I am generally upbeat and can see the bright side.  I live in a great city, have a great job, have great husband, family and friends.  I have all my teeth.  But let’s face it, not all days are good…

Today, I had one of those days.  People were hostile.  Nothing fit.  I was criticized and just had to say "OK".  We are still living in limbo.  Most of my clothes are in storage, along with the rest of our stuff and still no movement on apartment buying progress (blasted NYC Dept of Buildings).  My hairdresser went AWOL.  My tax accountant has also gone AWOL for nearly a week…am I not the client?  What happened to client service?  I found a hair in my lunch.

So what does one do at the end of such a day?  One takes oneself to Saks to go buy shoes.  How bad can that be?  I tried to keep it simple – I looked for simple, beautiful, comfortable black pumps.  And do you think I could even make that happen?  Ummm no.  And note, I did not say affordable.  I was willing to treat myself to a nice pair of shoes and a little retail therapy.  Alas, no such luck.  Too small, too big, too low, too high, too feathered (feathered?), too patent, too vixen, not enough vixen.  Harumph.

It was not my day.  I am shocked I did not get crapped on by a pigeon.  So here I sit surrounded by cats in a studio apartment without any of my stuff listening to a bad easy listening station on the radio because we also have no TV here (see earlier detoxing post).  I wish I had a Pollyanna doll – it might be fun to decapitate it right now. 

But let me not be defeatist.  Tomorrow is another day.  I have lots of blessings (I believe in Oprah), and as the saying goes, it could easily be worse.  For now, I may do a little web surfing for shoes, I shall order in dinner when the Big H gets home.  And having a yuck day is a nice excuse to get to bed early…and let Pollyanna rise again.