Oh well, hello there.  Been a while.  How have you been?

I have been pretty good.  Closed a new deal at work, think we are getting close to moving (no, really, I think so), enjoying the fall weather.  Not much else to report. 

There is just this one little thing I am thinking about…baptism.  I am trying to figure out if we will baptize the kid when it arrives.

My father would be horrified by this.  I can hear him now "What do you mean THINKING about it?  I assume you mean thinking about where and when…not IF!"

Yes, Dad, IF.

See, I grew up in the church.  Dad is an Episcopal priest (Episcopal, as in All the Frills and None of the Guilt, as in Catholic Lite..Episcopal, not Catholic.  That is why I am here.)  So anyway, I grew up going to church.  Every Sunday, religiously (I could not resist).  I went to Sunday School too, for a while anyway.  I got bored around age 8 or 9 and started skipping Sunday School.  My parents only tolerated my skipping because I chose to attend the adult class after the service instead of the kiddie class.  It’s not like I was skipping and going home to watch The McLaughlin Group.  We said grace every night before dinner.  I even recall vacations where if we could not find a church in the local area, Dad would conduct a service for us in our motel room on Sunday mornings (My sister and I were horrified by this. Thank goodness nobody was around to see us.  How embarrassing, Dad making us say prayers and receive communion at a HOJOs).

Anyway, I grew up religious.  And I still think of myself as religious but like many others, I have issues with religion.  In fact, I think religion often gives God a bad name.  Religion, in many ways a human construct, does not always reflect the divine or all that God is cracked up to be.  I think about these things often.  I do get a little ticked, however, when people equate religion and God – they are not one and the same.  I do believe in a God.  I don’t know what he/she/it looks like, and I honestly don’t care.  It’s not something I feel the need to resolve.  I simply believe there are numerous unexplained things in this world that man could never create, solve, devise or be responsible for.  It’s simple for me, I do not believe that humans are the highest form of intelligence and yet I am amazed every day by the world around us.  There MUST be something else going on…and for me, that is God.

I have other issues with religion, such as the whole resurrection thing, Jonah and the Whale, turning one loaf of bread and a fish into a feast for thousands, water into wine.  But even with all of this, I have not given up partly because I am a member of the Episcopal church.  In general, being Episcopalian does not mean you have to subscribe to literal translations of the Bible or various other simpleton rules and regulations.  We Episcoplians, again in general, embrace questions.  Oh and I cannot stand Bible pounding, guilt ridden, you need to saved stuff.  Ick.  I am sure there was original sin, but let’s get over it already and celebrate life and be good people.  Why all this focus on SIN.  I have never understood it.  And I don’t think I need to chastise myself or anyone else as a damaged sinner in order to be pious, humble and good.  So there.

But what about our kid?  What to do about that?  I am researching baptism to really understand what it means and if I am willing to impose that on the kid.  I believe in being a good person and in personal choice.  I do not believe you need to be part of organized religion to be good, and I am trying to figure out how important it is for me to suggest/instill religion in the kid.  I ultimately think he/she should choose it, or not, for themselves.  So does that rule out baptism?

These are not easy questions, and I am not sure that I will post our decision on this.  But that is what is on my mind these days.  If anyone would like to weigh in with a comment, feel free.  I am open to ideas on this one. 

