Resolutions. Some people hate them. I like them. I like thinking about goals and personal initiatives. I like tracking things.

I almost didn’t make resolutions this year because I don’t have a lot of time to think about them. But never let the perfect be the enemy of the good. At the end of 2013, I think I will be pleased if the year has included the following:

  • More Reading. So cliché. So useful. Often at night after work/kids/baths/lunch-making I find myself sitting down finally at 9:30 and staring at a wall. I could lie and say I am meditating but truth be told I am just zoned out. Time to get out of the haze. Reading is just as relaxing as staring at a wall and far more rewarding.
  • More families over for early dinners on the weekends. We have done this a bit in the past month or so and it’s really enjoyable. The kids run around and make a mess and have fun. Nobody cares. Adults get to cook a little and talk. Everyone goes home by 8PM to get kids to bed. We are cleaned up and done by 8:30 / 9PM.
  • Consistent Running. I did an ok job with exercise in 2012. Sporadic but when I got into it, I was fairly consistent. But I am much better with a goal. So I signed up for a 15K in April.
  • Call a friend a week. This should seem like DUH but when I really think about it, I don’t actually speak to many friends that often. The occasional text or email maybe. Or even worse, seeing what they’ve posted on Facebook. Connections make me happy. Reach out and call someone.
  • Buy less coffee on the way to work. There is simply no reason to spend $3.00 on coffee a day when I can brew it at the office.
  • Clean up the mess only once a day. I pick up and clean all day at home. Just let it go. What does it matter. Take a deep breath.
  • Random Acts of Kindness regularly. I don’t really know what this means – daily, weekly? But have you ever done something like bought the person behind you coffee or lunch? Amazingly rewarding.
  • Put the phone down between 6PM and 8:30PM. That is kid time. Focus woman.
  • Go closet shopping. I am sure I have things I don’t wear and yet I feel like my closet is empty. Get in there, try things on, iron the shirts, and mix it up. Be happy with what I have.
  • I resolve to use more puff pastry. I just love puff pastry.
  • I am going to stop worrying about not knowing how to speak French or play chess. How about just enjoy a game of backgammon or Scrabble. (i.e. let’s shelve the idea of being the Uber Person for a bit)
  • I would also like to take a moonlit walk on a beach with my husband.
  • Be less reactive. Someone recently described me as calm. “Ha!” I scoffed upon hearing this. But the comment was made in a work setting – I took pride in it. If that is true at work, the lack of calm at home may be paying the price. Let’s try calm and laughter.

None of this is high-minded. But to me the themes are clear. Be more present, less wasteful, more calm and good to myself. Happy 2013.

